On Saturday at T-Mobile Arena, Tiuliulin (11-6 MMA, 1-1 UFC) submitted Pickett (13-8 MMA, 2-4 UFC) in the second round. But before he knocked out Pickett, Tiuliulin was docked a point for an accidental low blow that would have likely cost him the fight.
Referee Mike Beltran deducted a point from the Russian boxer after issuing a second warning. First, Pickett was warned for a body kick that landed high but still hurt him. Obviously, Pickett's cup took the second strike.
“No, I speak with referee and now I understand him,” Tiuliulin said.
Tiuliulin Added, “When this situation (happened), I was motivated to finish because if this was a decision, this is a problem for me.”
“I’m happy because first fight I lost and this was a very fast fight, very wrestling opponent,” Tiuliulin said.
“He has very good wrestling, Aliaskhab is a very good fighter, and I wasn’t prepared for that fight and he won. This fight I had time, not much time, but I had time, I had a plan, I had my coach and I won. No problem.”